Rockschool Certification Structure

Rockschool offers two types of graded music examination; Grade Examinations and Performance Certificates. These qualifications are available at four levels, in line with Ofqual’s Regulated Qualifications structure:

ENTRY LEVEL (e.g. Entry 3 “Debut”)

LEVEL 2 Grades 4, 5

LEVEL 1 Grades 1, 2, 3

LEVEL 3 Grades 6, 7, 8

General Grade Examination Structure

The examination structure for the grade examinations is shown below:

1. ENTRY LEVEL (e.g. Entry 3 “Debut”)

2. Technical exercises or pieces

3. Ear Tests

4. General Musicianship Questions

5. Sight Reading or Improvisation & Interpretation or Quick Study Piece

Want to know last news?